longhand

I’ve been thinking about taking a sabbatical that would require my writing not be digital, not fueled by electricity, meaning, longhand. I haven’t written anything longhand in so very…long, that I am slow at it. It hurts my hand. It gets sloppy and nearly unreadable. I just can’t write fast enough. I am at once afraid and also intrigued by how writing with paper and pen will affect what I write. I need to begin practicing. Does longhand lends itself to a specific type of project or prose? Lee Rourke says in a Guardian article on the topic that pen and paper make writing a craft. That make sense to me. I’m good with my hands. Dexterous. So maybe this will work.

Leave a Reply

